The FIFA World Cup – the Most Important International Sports

FIFA, World Cup, Sports,Football
The FIFA World Cup

The FIFA World Cup ! More Information

The FIFA World Cup is one of the most important international sports and competitions under the supervision of the International Federation of Football. The tournament takes place every 4 years from the 1930’s. The championship began on this date, except in 1942 and in 1946 the tournament was canceled because of the second world war. Around 32 international teams are qualified for this competition after continental qualifiers for three years. This teams are divided into eight groups competing to qualify for the sixteenth round, then the eighth, then to the semi-finals and then to the final round, which includes two teams compete to win the world cup, the tournament last for a month playing in the stadiums of the countries hosting the tournament every four years.

In the last 20 championships 8 different international teams have won, Brazil has been the most active in these tournaments. It has been in all the tournaments since 1930 winning 5 times in 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002) and the Italian team, which won the title 4 times in the years 1934, 1938, 1982, 2006, and also Germany, which won the title 4 times in 1954, 1974 and 1990, ), The Argentine team and the Uruguay national team won the title twice, while France, Spain and England won for one time.

The World Cup is one of the most watched championships in the world, with a total of 715 million spectators in Germany in 2006, the last tournament in Brazil in 2014, and the next tournament in Russia. In 2018, the idea of the World Cup dates back to the first meeting of the International Federation of Football in 1904 in the presence of (7) countries in the meeting which are Belgium, Switzerland, France, Denmark, Spain, the Netherlands and Sweden, where the Federation adopted the idea of holding the tournament in the world, but they faced some difficulties like :
International Olympic Committee protested the idea because of their fear of it affecting the Olympic Games. In addition to the fear of the International Federation controlling the most popular tournament in the world.
Then the idea was introduced again in 1921 by a lawyer named Jules Réme and he took over the presidency of the federation. And the first tournament was organized in Uruguay in 1930. The tournament has been held every four years since then except during the Second World War Due to the difficulty of travel, the number of countries participating in the first tournament was thirteen countries, of which only four are European countries: France, Belgium, Romania and Yugoslavia. The final match took place in the Centenario Stadium between Argentina and Uruguay and Uruguay won 4-2.

The Arab countries participated in the finals of the World Cup early, as Egypt was able to reach the World Cup in 1934, thus achieving the title of the first Arab country reached the World Cup, and the Egyptian team went to the World Cup in Italy, facing Hungary and lose 4-2, with Adel Fawzi scoring the first goal of the tournament. Despite the participation of Egypt as the first Arab country in the World Cup, it did not qualify for the new championship and remained outside the tournament until the time of the World Cup in 1990.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *